If you have been arrested for OWI (Operating While Intoxicated) or DUI (Driving Under the Influence), you need to talk to an experienced and aggressive attorney right away. This is a serious offense which can result in costly fines, suspension of your driver’s license, installation of a costly ignition interlock device in your car, and even jail time.
Simon Law Firm focuses on providing excellent representation in OWI/DUI matters. We understand that being arrested for drunk driving can happen to just about anyone. In fact, we are so well respected in the legal community that we have even represented other lawyers in drunk driving cases.
The OWI/DUI laws in Wisconsin change frequently, with the state legislature constantly increasing the penalties for these types of offenses. That is why it is important to seek the assistance of a professional who is experienced in helping individuals with these types of matters. We know that drivers can, at times, be wrongly accused. It is not against the law to drink and drive in Wisconsin, only to drive while you are impaired. So just being arrested does not necessarily mean that you are guilty. We focus first on defending you. However, if it appears as though you are going to be found guilty, we can also give you the advice you need to obtain an occupational license or even huber work release or electronic home monitoring if you are facing jail.
At Simon Law Firm of Green Bay, Wisconsin, we will aggressively and thoroughly defend you against the charges of OWI, DUI, and DWI (Driving While Intoxicated), and we will always work to get you the best result we can.
Wisconsin – OWI/DWI/DUI Laws
1st OWI Offense in Wisconsin
In Wisconsin, a first offense drunk driving arrest is not a criminal offense. It is considered an ordinance violation, which results in a monetary penalty and a revocation of your driver’s license. Wisconsin is the only state that treats first-offense OWI as a traffic violation. However, if convicted, you may also be required to get an AODA (alcohol or drug assessment) and go to treatment classes. You may also be required to obtain very costly SR-22 insurance for your vehicle. This can result in long-lasting consequences to you. A 1st offense OWI is very serious and remains on your driving record for life! In addition, if you are convicted of an OWI-1st offense and your blood alcohol concentration is above 0.15 you will be required to have an ignition interlock device installed in any vehicle that you own or operate, which can cost thousands of dollars per year.
As of July 1, 2010, Wisconsin now does criminalize a 1st offense OWI in those cases where a person under the age of 16 is present in the car at the time of the offense. This new misdemeanor exposes first-time offenders to the same penalties they would face if convicted of a 2nd offense OWI: 5 days to 6 months in jail and a substantial fine.
2nd – 3th OWI Offense in Wisconsin
If you are arrested for a 2nd or a 3rd offense OWI/DWI/DUI in Wisconsin, you could be facing fines of over $2,000, revocation of your driver’s license for several years, and jail time ranging from five days to one year, if convicted. This type of conviction is also considered a criminal offense and will leave you with a criminal record.
Hiring an attorney can help to limit or even eliminate the amount of jail time you have to serve, given the circumstances of your case. Check out our case results page to see past results that we have had in this area of our practice, and contact us to discuss your case.
4th OWI Offense and above in Wisconsin
A conviction for 4th offense OWI/DWI/DUI is a felony in Wisconsin. Punishment can range from six months to six years in prison. However, the State of Wisconsin is getting more and more harsh on felony drunk driving cases, and in most instances the Prosecutor will be trying to put people convicted of such offenses in prison for years rather than months. Also, if you are convicted of a felony you will lose your right to own or possess a firearm and you will lose your right to vote.